Urban life online briefing – seeing Adelaide through the eyes of young people.
Online
23 October, 2020

EST

23:30 (-1)

CET

05:30

IST

09:00

ACST

13:00
” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener noreferrer”>Add to Google Calendar
Date: Friday 23 October 2020 | Time:  1 - 3pm ACST Join the Commissioner for Children and Young People in an online forum for urban professionals, to gain insight into the research findings gathered by the Commissioner for Children and Young People and see Adelaide through the eyes of young people. This Conscious Adelaide session is presented by the Commissioner for Children and Young People, Australian Institute of Landscape Architects and Urban Mind Studio. Conscious Cities Festival 2020 - Being Adelaide Adelaide is built on an ancient place between pristine oceans and an ancient mountain belt. It is a unique geographical, ecological and cultural place, with strong First Nation's cultures, thriving arts and cultural festivals and great universities - all surrounded by parkland, pristine coastline and productive food and wine regions. As part of Global Conscious Cities Festival, Conscious Adelaide will focus on bringing the voice of young people to conversations about the identity, mood, mindsets and meanings of the place, in a festival of questions and conversations about what it means ‘to be’ Adelaide, now and into the future.Conscious Adelaide is presented by a network of contributors woven together by Urban Mind Studio, with the Commissioner for Children and Young People South Australia, the NeuroTech Institute, Youth Inc, the City of Adelaide, Global Shapers Adelaide Hub, Festivals Adelaide, MOD, Imprints Booksellers and the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects South Australia.

Commissioner for Children and Young People - South Australia

Helen Connolly is South Australia’s inaugural Commissioner for Children and Young People. Her role is to promote and advocate for the rights, development and wellbeing of all children and young people in South Australia. Before becoming Commissioner, Helen worked as an Executive Director of Australian Red Cross in South Australia, applying 30 years’ experience as a leader in human services. Throughout her career, Helen has taken an active advocacy role on the main policy issues that impact on the wellbeing of Australian families and children with a strong focus on early intervention and prevention strategies. She is a former Chair of the South Australian Council of Social Services (SACOSS) and currently Co-Chair of Reconciliation SA.