Conscious Cities Festival 2020

The Centre for Conscious Design (CCD) presents Conscious Cities Festival 2020: To Shape and be Shaped. Hosted at venues and online platforms around the world, this year’s festival will feature 15+ event series to discuss how Conscious Design can empower and meet the needs of local communities and individuals. Conscious Design is a continually evolving process that incorporates systems and structures, science, storytelling, and participatory-design. 

Building on previous Conscious Cities Festivals hosted by the Centre of Conscious Design (CCD)  each event will tackle pressing issues facing urban populations. This year, the movement is launching its first group of local chapters, each of which is organizing an event in their city. Some speakers of note include Tiffany Shlain, Adah Parris, and Upali Nanda.

Mission Statement

The 2020 Conscious Cities Festival sparks global knowledge exchange by cultivating networks of local and diverse experts, organizations, and institutions to co-create solutions to current issues. The 2020 Conscious Cities Festival acts as an umbrella, assisting our chapters around the world to create their own Conscious Cities Events. To us, the conscious cities festival is only the beginning, igniting a continued network, dialogue, and reimagination of the built environment for years to come.

Sign up to our Newletter for updates

An Invitation to Join Us

If the Conscious Cities Movement speaks to you, we encourage you to take part. We welcome opportunities for collaboration and partnership on any events and projects which contribute to our collective effort to shift our approach to design, architecture, and planning towards a science-informed and human-centred paradigm.

Please email Grace at [email protected].

18

EST  10:00 am

CET  4:00 pm 

IST  7:30 pm

ACST  11:30 pm 

We're excited to gather the conscious cities movement on the eve of the 2020 week-long festival! Opening performance A video dance performance"To Shape and Be Shaped", exploring the facets of a conscious city. A collaboration at the intersection of art, architecture, and science. Choreographed by Snir Nakar, directed and produced...
19

EST  

CET   

IST 

ACST   

Join us for this years NYC Conscious Cities Festival, as we bring together experts across disciplines and communities to reimagine what it means to integrate equity across sectors.
19

EST  13:45 & 17:00

CET  19:45 & 23:30 

IST  23:15 & 2:00 (+1)

ACST  03:15 (+1) & 7:00 (+1) 

At Conscious NYC, we believe equity is a critical component of urban infrastructure. In the first day of the 2020 NYC Conscious Cities Festival, speakers will address: How can we design NYC to promote racial equity that not only enables local communities to thrive through hardship, but also ensures that...
19

EST  

CET   

IST 

ACST   

What do I notice about this place? will explore the rich dialogue between people and place, and the ways in which one shapes the other. Participants are invited on a self- guided exploratory tour to discover the way their bodies interact with the space around them. Presented by the Museum...
19

EST  09:00

CET  16:00 

IST  19:30

ACST  23:30 

En el día 1 del Conscious Cities Festival organizado por Conscious LIMA, empezamos la reflexión sobre asuntos conceptuales y metodológicos que nos permitirán ganar claridad en el proceso de diseño y planificación de nuestras ciudades. El abordaje será interdisciplinario con la finalidad de enriquecer las prácticas urbano-arquitectónicas hacia ciudades conscientes...
19

EST  07:30

CET  13:30 

IST  18:00

ACST  23:00 

Mumbai City has had its brawl for capita ever since the islands were reclaimed to form the city of Bombay. Every decade witnesses the population burst and the demand for space increases. Yet, somehow, the city landscape compensates for what the built form fails to provide: Privacy, Security and Intimacy....
19

EST  19:00

CET  13:00 

IST  4:30 (+1)

ACST  8:30 (+1) 

Toronto's Conscious Cities Festival 2020 is focused on the impacts housing and public space have on health equity in Toronto. For this panel, we assemble speakers who look at public space through the lenses of green equity and gentrification, human-centred design, architecture and policy. Panelists TBA.
20

EST  04:30

CET  10:30 

IST  14:00

ACST  18:00 

Event Type: Town Hall Forum  | Date: Tuesday 20th October | Time: 6pm - 7.30pm ACST | Location: Adelaide Town Hall - Meeting Hall (venue change) Cities are made up mostly of strangers with often vastly different values and views of the world. We know that trust is essential for wellbeing,...
20

EST  09:00

CET  16:00 

IST  19:30

ACST  23:30 

En el día 2 del Conscious Cities Festival, reflexionaremos acerca de la relación que tienen la arquitectura y la ciudad con la salud y la educación. Para ello, contaremos con artistas, educadores y neurocientíficos, arquitectos y urbanistas, para profundizar desde un enfoque interdisciplinario en los aportes que necesitamos para lograr...
20

EST  1.30

CET  7.30 

IST  11.00

ACST  15.00 

Exploring Conscious Cities through Data and Art - A workshop in creative coding and data visualization
20

EST  2:30

CET  8:30 

IST  12.00

ACST  16:00 

A dialogue with seven quintessential stakeholders of Conscious Bengaluru
20

EST  2.30

CET  8.30 

IST  12.00

ACST  16.00 

Student presentations on'The Person-Space Exchange'. (students pursuing architecture, urban design, planning, developmental science, social or human sciences) Ideas galore!
20

EST  12:30 & 17:00

CET  18:30 & 23:00 

IST  22:00 & 02:30 (+1)

ACST  02:00 (+1) & 06:30 (+1) 

What does it mean to endow education with equity? An intersectional look at creating conscious education spaces, policies, and curriculum.
20

EST  09:00

CET  15:00 

IST  18:30

ACST  22:30 

FLOURISH // INTERSECTIONS (Conscious Cities London) How can we bring together research in neuroscience, psychology, behavioural sciences and more, with everyday architectural / urban design practice to create more positive experiences for people?
20

EST  12:00

CET  18:00 

IST  21:30

ACST  01:30 (+1) 

Conscious Accra invites you to join us in the first fully virtual edition of the Conscious Cities Festival! From Oct. 20th - 22nd, we will be hosting a series of ‘Conscious Conversations,’ exploring the roles that cultural and environmental heritage play in shaping the future of our city and its...
20

EST  06:30

CET  12:30 

IST  16:00

ACST  20:00 

A panel discussion with multidisciplinary insights into human-centric design practices
20

EST  11:00

CET  17:00 

IST  20:30

ACST  00:30 (+1) 

What are we saying, and is the city listening? The modern city has captured society’s imagination as a symbol of free and democratic expression, a commons for open dialogue. However today both art and science are pointing at the city’s more worrying ability to silence and marginalise voices. Every space...
20

EST  

CET   

IST 

ACST   

Having understood that our City is obviously affecting every individual that it provides for, conversations dwell on the details of how certain aspects can have huge negative impacts on the human mind, especially the sensitive minds. Mental Health Awareness programs continue to struggle against the social stigma of psychological and...
20

EST  19:00

CET  13:00 

IST  4:30 (+1)

ACST  8:30 (+1) 

Strategies for balancing work and life, and coping with the many 'new normals' of working from home.
21

EST  12:00

CET  18:00 

IST  21:30

ACST  01:30 (+1) 

Conscious Accra invites you to join us in the first fully virtual edition of the Conscious Cities Festival! From Oct. 20th - 22nd, we will be hosting a series of ‘Conscious Conversations,’ exploring the roles that cultural and environmental heritage play in shaping the future of our city and its...
21

EST  14:00 & 17:00

CET  20:00 & 23:00 

IST  23:30 & 02:30 (+1)

ACST  03:30 (+1) & 06:30 (+1) 

What are the major issues facing achieving an equitable NYC? Join mayorial candidates, activists, and design thinkers to reimagine NYC.
21

EST  20:00

CET  +1 02:00 

IST  +1 05:30

ACST  +1 10:30 

Talks by local experts will be followed up by open dialogue addressing how we can foster a healthier, more consciously designed world using our local environment as a lens.
21

EST  09:00

CET  16:00 

IST  19:30

ACST  23:30 

En el día 3 del Conscious Cities Festival, biólogos, neurocientíficos y educadores acompañarán a arquitectos y urbanistas para dialogar y proponer acerca de procesos democráticos influenciados por el espacio así como de los beneficios de la naturaleza en nuestros espacios urbanos. El énfasis interdisciplinario nos permitirá encontrar respuestas y propuestas...
21

EST  09:00

CET  15:00 

IST  18:30

ACST  22:30 

FLOURISH // CONNECTEDNESS (Conscious Cities London) How can the built environment facilitate quality of life, community, sense of belonging and improve mental health?
21

EST  10:00

CET  16:00 

IST  19:30

ACST  23:30 

The modern city has captured society’s imagination as a symbol of free and democratic expression, a commons for open dialogue. However today both art and science are pointing at the city’s more worrying ability to silence and marginalise voices. Every space we shape inherits a social contract that guides our...
21

EST  18:00

CET  23:00 

IST  3:30

ACST  7:30 

El Festival Conscious Cities Monterrey reune a expertos interdiciplinarios que compartirán esfuerzos realizados en materia urbana, para mejorar la calidad de vida de sus habitantes. Escucharemos en vivo a diseñadores, académicos, autoridades gubernamentales, urbanistas y artistas con enfoque social. Únete a esta conversación y súmate a los esfuerzos activamente. Monterrey...
21

EST  12:00

CET  18:00 

IST  21:30

ACST  01:30 (+1) 

7pm Tel Aviv Join us for an evening of stories and songs with Rana Choir, the only Arab-Jewish women choir in Israel comprised of 16 Muslim, Christian and Jewish women from Jaffa. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bKflik9dFLA The group serves as a unique example of the possibility and potential of shared social and creative...
21

EST  19:00

CET  01:00 (+1) 

IST  04:30 (+1)

ACST  08:30 (+1) 

A panel discussion of interdisciplinary perspectives on housing policy and design as tools to promote wellbeing and health equity.
22

EST  13:30 & 17:00

CET  19:30 & 23:00 

IST  23:00 & 02:30 (+1)

ACST  03:00 (+1) & 06:30 (+1) 

What are the challenges preventing neighborhoods from achieving full equity, and, how can we challenge them to help communities thrive?
22

EST  07:00

CET  13:00 

IST  16:30

ACST  20:30 

Transforming Lahore in to a Human-kind City.
22

EST  19:00

CET  01:00 (+1) 

IST  04:30 (+1)

ACST  08:30 (+1) 

How is Denver Shaping Health? Join us for a series of short lectures and discussion from Denver experts. The event will be held online. We are grateful to the College of Architecture and Planning at the University of Colorado Denver for partnering with us on this event.
22

EST  09:00

CET  16:00 

IST  19:30

ACST  23:30 

En el día 4 del Conscious Cities Festival, abordaremos la relación interdisciplinaria en el fomento de la cultura y la diversidad. A través de ponencias, talleres y conversaciones desde la historia, educación, neurociencia y antropología, conectaremos con la arquitectura y el urbanismo para inspirar la creación de ciudades conscientes y...
22

EST  12:00

CET  17:00 

IST  21:30

ACST  01:30 (+1) 

Conscious Accra invites you to join us in the first fully virtual edition of the Conscious Cities Festival! From Oct. 20th - 22nd, we will be hosting a series of ‘Conscious Conversations,’ exploring the roles that cultural and environmental heritage play in shaping the future of our city and its...
22

EST  20:30 (-1)

CET  02:30 

IST  06:00

ACST  10:00 

Niina marni (Hello, how are you?) Since the beginning of humanity, the world’s oldest cultures have continually adapted ways of living and being that nurture human and planetary health. First Nations people globally share at least one important principle; a deep ancestral and cultural connection to land, nature and place....
22

EST  12:00

CET  18:00 

IST  15:30

ACST  19:30 

El Festival Conscious Cities Monterrey reune a expertos interdiciplinarios que compartirán esfuerzos realizados en materia urbana, para mejorar la calidad de vida de sus habitantes. Escucharemos en vivo a diseñadores, académicos, autoridades gubernamentales, urbanistas y artistas con enfoque social. Únete a esta conversación y súmate a los esfuerzos activamente. Monterrey...
22

EST  09:00

CET  15:00 

IST  18:30

ACST  22:30 

FLOURISH // ECOSYSTEMS (Conscious Cities London) What are the systems and frameworks we need to better address pressing societal and planetary issues? How can we create human-centric places that also support environmental priorities like decarbonisation, increasing biodiversity and promote circular economies?
22

EST  15:00

CET  21:00 

IST  0:30

ACST  4:30 

Antonio Gómez-Palacio of DIALOG Toronto shares the lessons of the Community Wellbeing Framework through an interactive workshop.
22

EST  9:00 AM

CET  3:00 PM 

IST  6:30 PM

ACST  11:00 PM 

Space has never been neutral; it has often been profoundly ideological. The imagination of urban and landscape designers and architects has been captured by the idea that we read spaces as we read books. However, we have been witnessing a paradigm shift in the cultural world: we are moving from...
22

EST  17:00

CET  22:00 

IST  2:30

ACST  6:30 

El Festival Conscious Cities Monterrey reune a expertos interdiciplinarios que compartirán esfuerzos realizados en materia urbana, para mejorar la calidad de vida de sus habitantes. Escucharemos en vivo a diseñadores, académicos, autoridades gubernamentales, urbanistas y artistas con enfoque social. Únete a esta conversación y súmate a los esfuerzos activamente. Monterrey...
22

EST  11:00

CET  16:00 

IST  20:30

ACST  01:30 (+1) 

Alors que les crises sociales, économiques et environnementales menacent les urbains, les villes doivent développer des solutions pour aider leurs habitants à faire face aux transformations de leurs conditions de vie. Le capital social local est considéré comme une ressource précieuse pour la résilience des individus et des communautés, déterminante...
22

EST  14:00

CET  19:00 

IST  23:30

ACST  03:30 (+1) 

Conscious Accra invites you to join us in the first fully virtual edition of the Conscious Cities Festival! From Oct. 20th - 22nd, we will be hosting a series of ‘Conscious Conversations,’ exploring the roles that cultural and environmental heritage play in shaping the future of our city and its...
23

EST  11:00

CET  17:00 

IST  20:30

ACST  00:30 (+1) 

*** THIS EVENT WILL BE HELD IN ITALIAN *** Available with English subtitles in the coming days How can we assess how cities, outside their urban limits, affect the 'domesticated' country landscape and how they have profoundly marked the natural environment? Undoubtedly, many factors can be listed as co-responsible for...
23

EST  23:30 (-1)

CET  05:30 

IST  09:00

ACST  13:00 

Date: Friday 23 October 2020 | Time:  1 - 3pm ACST Join the Commissioner for Children and Young People in an online forum for urban professionals, to gain insight into the research findings gathered by the Commissioner for Children and Young People and see Adelaide through the eyes of young...
23

EST  09:00

CET  16:00 

IST  19:30

ACST  23:30 

Para el día 5 del Conscious Cities Festival en LIMA, visiones desde la poesía, filosofía y las artes expresivas complementarán ideas provenientes de la arquitectura y el urbanismo. En el espíritu de la interdisciplinariedad, canalizaremos todo lo aprendido y compartido a través de la creación colectiva de una síntesis en...
24

EST  8:00

CET  14:00 

IST  17:30

ACST  21:30 

Join us for The Big Sit and get inspired on making use of public spaces for practicing mindfulness and fostering good mental health. About this Event In a world that never stops, where external noise rages on and internal voices are amplified, what better way to carry on than to...
24

EST  Oct 23 23:30 - Oct 24 01:30

CET  09:00 - 11:00 

IST  05:30 -07:30

ACST  14:00 - 16:00 

Date: Saturday 24 October 2020 | Time: 2pm - 4pm ACST | Location: Adelaide town hall - Banqueting Room Humans have evolved from the same stardust, amoebas, fungi and apes into complex cultural creatures, with the capacity to look telescopically back in time to the beginnings of our universe, to...